Seeing the thanksgiving

givethankswallpaperdownload“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

I asked 3 sisters who attend Brookstone what they are thankful for this year, and their answers surprised me: a house to sleep in, clothes to wear each day, food to eat, shoes on their feet…

Honestly, I might have said the house part, and I thank the Lord for food before I eat it. But the rest of what they mentioned I rarely think about, much less thank God for. If anything, I assume I’ll have shoes in the future or clothes to wear. Never have I “needed” these things; I’ve lived in abundance compared to so many in this world.

I’ve continued thinking about their simple answers to what they are thankful for, and I’ve been humbled in my own heart because God wants me to SEE the many things he’s provided for me and THANK HIM for each of them.

Too often I stand in front of my closet and complain because I don’t want to wear anything that’s hanging up in front of me. What would my heart and mind look like if instead of complaining, I stood before the things the Lord’s provided and offered a prayer of thanksgiving.

What if I did this when I’m in a frustrating moment at work… thanking Him for his grace in the gifts he’s given me and a job that provides for me.

How about a tough moment in marriage… thanking Him for a husband who loves me and lays his life down, constantly modeling Jesus’ love for His Church.

Or the many times my anxiety overwhelms me in so many circumstances… thanking Him for his invitation to cast all my cares on Him because HE CARES FOR ME!

This week, I’m focusing on seeing the blessings around me and thanking the Giver of good and perfect gifts. Father, forgive me for moving so quickly through my days and forfeiting your grace in thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

